As of 8 p.m. Saturday, March 21, all barbershops, hair salons, tattoo or piercing parlors, nail salons, hair removal and related personal care services will be closed to members of the public.

The latest coronavirus containment measures were announced jointly Friday morning by Governor Andrew Cuomo, along with the governors of New Jersey, Connecticut and Pennsylvania, “as these services cannot be provided while maintaining social distance.”

Thursday, the four governors announced indoor portions of retail shopping malls, as well as amusement parks and bowling alleys in the four states would close by 8 p.m. that day.

“We know how the novel coronavirus spreads, and we are making data-driven decisions as the situation evolves to continue to reduce density and slow the spread of the virus,” Cuomo said. “We remain in constant communication with our neighboring states to ensure we are establishing a set of uniform rules and regulations for the entire region.

“These temporary closures are not going to be easy, but they are necessary to protecting the health and safety of New Yorkers and all Americans.”

New Jersey Governor Phil Murphy added; “While we understand the challenge these restrictions pose to our region’s small businesses, we are actively working with the federal government to ensure that financial relief is made available to our business owners and workforce as quickly as possible.”

Photo by Aw Creative on Unsplash